The Islamic New Year, also known as Hijri New Year, marks the beginning of the Islamic lunar calendar. It is based on the migration (Hijra) of Prophet Muhammad from Mecca to Medina in 622 CE.

Islamic New Year is celebrated on the first day of Muharram, the first month of the Islamic calendar. The exact date may vary each year based on the sighting of the new moon.

The Islamic calendar follows a lunar cycle, consisting of 354 or 355 days. This differs from the Gregorian calendar, which follows a solar cycle of 365 days.

Muharram, the month of Islamic New Year, holds great significance for both Sunni and Shia Muslims. It is a time of reflection, remembrance, and renewal of faith.

The Islamic New Year is not celebrated with lavish parties or fireworks. Instead, it is a solemn occasion for Muslims to contemplate their actions and seek spiritual growth.

While the Islamic calendar is based on lunar months, it also takes into account the solar year. This makes it a unique hybrid calendar that combines both lunar and solar elements.

The year 1 AH (After Hijra) marks the beginning of the Islamic calendar. It corresponds to 622 CE in the Gregorian calendar.

The Islamic New Year is not a public holiday in many countries, but it is observed by Muslims through special prayers and gatherings at mosques.